Gérard Bertrand

Welcome to the Soleilla Spa. The Spa is open to both hotel and non-hotel guests. Our experts welcome you for a unique and holistic experience

LET US FLY

AN EXHIBITION BY LOUIS JAMMES

From November to April 2023

THE ARTIST

Louis Jammes was born in 1958 in Carcassonne. At the beginning of the 1980s, at the beginning of his career, he immortalized the artists of his personal pantheon, those who inspired his career such as the members of the Beat GenerationAndy Warhol, Lou Reed, then his relatives, the emerging free figuration and those of his generation: Keith HaringJean-Michel Basquiat, Robert Combas, or Julian Schnabel, in a setting that he conceives evoking their work. Louis Jammes gradually seeks to explore the world through his lens, to capture the present time. In 1987, he went out into the street and painted portraits of "Bag People" in Barbès, anonymous people posing in front of a painted set, whom he thus turned into heroes for the duration of a photo session. He then travels to countries where major events in contemporary history are taking place, in the field of great reporters, in cities and countries that are suffering or at war. In search of human nature and its cracks. In Gaza and the West Bank in 1988, in Tunisia with the Palestinians, in Spain with the Gypsies and in Berlin during the fall of the wall in 1989, in Chernobyl in 1991 to follow up on the disaster of the nuclear power plant, in Sarajevo during the war of 1993 in Chechnya and Africa in 1996, in the Taimyr peninsula in Northern Siberia in 1999, in Iraq on the day of the fall of Saddam Hussein in 2003, in Egypt, Tahrir Square during the revolution in 2012, in the heart of Europe in 2015 with refugees. Louis Jammes does not photograph barbarism in its acts, but victims. He does not wish to bear witness to these conflicts in the manner of a reporter, but to take sides, to be part of them.

"Photographer but not like other photographers, painter but not like other painters. The only one of his kind. Singular as the best are. The best but all alone, if I dare say."

Extract from the text of Michel Nurudsany

THE EXHIBITION

"In the early 80's, I tried to bring photography into the real world of art. I set out to meet the artists of my personal pantheon, like an initiatory journey. The idea is to invent a new pictorial writing. Louis Jammes

A work that is not quite nomadic, not quite chaotic, but somewhat wandering, and sinuous - yet coherent -, that makes the great leap between painting and photography, striving to reconcile them at the heart of a light that asserts itself as the main actor of the adventure.

This exhibition is built like an initiatory journey, going on the trace of his origins: his thousand and one lives of photographer, his roots, his experiences.

A journey through several universes, through series and moments of life dating back more than thirty years - many exclusive collaborations, including Andy Warhol, Robert Combas and Jean-Michel Basquiat. In his peregrinations, in the heart of conflicts and major events of our contemporary history, from Sarajevo to Fukushima, he highlights the victims to take sides, or at least to be part of it.

A major surprise awaits the spectators at nightfall: a monumental projection testifying to his thousand and one experiences as an artist, through series and moments of life dating back more than thirty years - his exclusive collaborations, his travels to the heart of the conflicts and major events of our contemporary history, from Sarajevo to Fukushima, and his return to his roots in the Aude region, in the very heart of the terroir of La Clape

"A work where it would be shown to see that the image proves nothing seems to me the most necessary work, politically the most necessary. "Louis Jammes

EXCERPTS

A chaotic and nomadic life between the Siberian tundra, the New York of the 1980s, the Paris of the Figuration Libre, Sarajevo at war, devastated Chechnya, contaminated Chernobyl, Uganda and its forest as beautiful as Eden, the Aude as a green paradise.

I discovered the existence of Louis Jammes in 1988, when Yvon Lambert suddenly showed Rémy Blanchard (from 1982) and then Combas. I liked Combas, not so much the other painters of the "Figuration libre" Louis Jammes, for me, was apart. And, clearly, I preferred him. I found it hard to place him in that movement, to prefer him to people with whom it was difficult to compare him. I loved him as one loves a UFO. Apart, yes, apart.

Photographer but not like other photographers, painter but not like other painters. The only one of his kind. Singular as the best are. The best but all alone, if I dare say.

Extract from the text of Michel Nurudsany

practical information

Exhibition dates: November 30, 2022 - April 2023

Opening hours of the exhibition: Free access every day from 9 am to 7 pm

Location of the Exhibition: Art Space, Shop, Jazz Bar, Chai Rouge, Reception, Restaurant Art de vivre, outdoor spaces to be confirmed

Night projections on the facades of the Château L'Hospitalet - from 6:30 pm to 2 am 7 days a week.

Projection on the Bastide/Inner Court Jazz - Works by Olll

Projection on the building of the Cellar / Shop / Tower - Works of Louis Jammes

LET US FLY

UNE EXPOSITION DE LOUIS JAMMES

De Novembre à Avril 2023

L’ARTISTE

Louis Jammes est né en 1958 à Carcassonne. Au début des années 1980, à l’orée de sa carrière, il immortalise les artistes de son panthéon personnel, ceux qui ont inspiré son parcours comme les membres de la Beat Generation, Andy Warhol, Lou Reed, puis ses proches, la figuration libre naissante et ceux de sa génération : Keith Haring, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Robert Combas, ou encore Julian Schnabel, dans un décor qu’il conçoit évoquant leur œuvre. Louis Jammes cherche petit à petit à explorer le monde à travers son objectif, à rendre compte du temps présent. Il descend dans la rue et fait le portrait des « Bag people » à Barbès en 1987, des anonymes posant devant un décor peint, qu’il change ainsi en héros le temps d’une séance photo. Il part ensuite dans des pays où se déroulent des événements majeurs de l’histoire contemporaine, sur le terrain des grands reporters, dans des villes et des pays qui souffrent ou sont en guerre. À la recherche de la nature humaine et de ses fêlures. À Gaza et en Cisjordanie en 1988, en Tunisie avec les Palestiniens, en Espagne avec les Gitans et à Berlin lors de la chute du mur en 1989, à Tchernobyl en 1991 pour donner suite à la catastrophe de la centrale nucléaire, à Sarajevo lors de la guerre de 1993, en Tchétchénie et Afrique en 1996, dans la péninsule du Taïmyr en Sibérie du Nord en 1999, en Irak le jour de la chute de Saddam Hussein en 2003, en Égypte, place Tahrir lors de la révolution en 2012, au cœur de l’Europe en 2015 auprès des réfugiés. Louis Jammes ne photographie pas la barbarie dans ses actes, mais des victimes. Il ne désire pas témoigner de ces conflits à la manière d’un reporter, mais prendre parti, en faire partie.

« Photographe mais pas comme les autres photographes, peintre mais pas comme les autres peintres. Seul de son espèce. Singulier comme le sont les meilleurs. Le meilleur mais tout seul, si j’ose dire. »

Extrait du texte de Michel Nurudsany

L’EXPOSITION

« Au début des années 80, je cherche à faire entrer la photographie dans le véritable monde de l’art. Je pars à la rencontre des artistes de mon panthéon personnel, tel un parcours initiatique. L’idée est d’inventer une nouvelle écriture picturale. » Louis Jammes

Une œuvre pas tout à fait nomade, pas tout à fait chaotique, mais quelque peu errante, et sinueuse – cohérente pourtant -, qui fait le grand écart entre peinture et photo, s’efforçant de les concilier au cœur d’une lumière qui s’affirme là comme acteur principal de l’aventure.

Cette exposition est construite comme un voyage initiatique, partant sur la trace de ses origines : ses mille et une vies de photographe, ses racines, ses expériences.

Un voyage dans plusieurs univers, à travers des séries et moment de vie datant de plus de trente ans – de nombreuses collaborations exclusives, dont Andy Warhol, Robert Combas et Jean-Michel Basquiat. Dans ses pérégrinations, au cœur des conflits et évènements majeurs de notre histoire contemporaine, de Sarajevo à Fukushima, il met en lumière les victimes pour prendre parti, ou à défaut en faire partie.

Une surprise de taille attend les spectateurs à la tombée de la nuit : une projection monumentale témoignant de ses mille et une expériences d’artiste, à travers des séries et moment de vie datant de plus de trente ans – ses collaborations exclusives, ses voyages au cœur des conflits et évènements majeurs de notre histoire contemporaine, de Sarajevo à Fukushima, et son retour aux racines audoises, au cœur même du terroir de La Clape.

« Un travail où se montrerait à voir que l’image ne prouve rien me paraît le travail le plus nécessaire, politiquement le plus nécessaire. » Louis Jammes

EXTRAITS

Une vie chaotique et nomade entre la toundra sibérienne, le New York des années 1980, le Paris de la Figuration Libre, Sarajevo en guerre, la Tchétchénie dévastée, Tchernobyl contaminée l’Ouganda et sa forêt belle comme un Eden, l’Aude comme un vert paradis.

J’ai découvert l’existence de Louis Jammes en 1988, quand Yvon Lambert soudain, avait montré Rémy Blanchard (dès 1982) puis Combas. puis Louis Jammes. J’aimais bien Combas, pas trop les autres peintres de la « Figuration libre «Louis Jammes, pour moi, était à part. Et, nettement, je le préférais. J’avais du mal à le situer dans cette mouvance-là, à le préférer à des gens avec qui il était difficile de le comparer. Je l’aimais comme on aime un OVNI. A part, oui, à part.

Photographe mais pas comme les autres photographes, peintre mais pas comme les autres peintres. Seul de son espèce. Singulier comme le sont les meilleurs. Le meilleur mais tout seul, si j’ose dire.

Extrait du texte de Michel Nurudsany

informations pratiques

Dates de l’exposition : 30 novembre 2022 – Avril 2023

Horaires de l’exposition : Accès libre et gratuit tous les jours de 9h à 19h

Lieu de l’Exposition : Espace d’Art, Boutique, Jazz Bar, Chai Rouge, Réception, Restaurant Art de vivre, espaces extérieurs à confirmer

Projections nocturnes sur les façades du Château L’Hospitalet – de 18h30 à 2h du matin 7/7j.

Projection sur la Bastide/Cour intérieure Jazz – Œuvres de Olll

Projection sur le bâtiment de la Cave / Boutique /Tour – Œuvres de Louis Jammes